Healthier Than Usual, Cookies.

Well friends, it has been an exceptionally long time, and I send my apologies for that.  Life has gotten pretty crazy the past few weeks, and I have found myself basically just working and sleeping.  It’s a pretty boring cycle.. and doesn’t always leave much time to find those little gems of happiness in life.. but I found one.. and I HAVE to share it with you.  It actually makes somewhere around 50 little decadent gems of low fat happiness that will turn even your most boring work filled day into a treat.  I promise.

It isn’t a secret to anyone that knows me- I have an obsession with chocolate chip cookies.. so much so that a bag of chips ahoy is annihilated to crumbs after only a day or so.  I had to find a better solution than to wallow in my chocolate addiction by inhaling the sugary, fattening, awful for you cookies you buy at the store (or make at home with butter and crisco.  yikes!)  And thus.. this glorious little recipe fell into my lap.  I call them Banana Chocolate Chip cookies.  I stumbled upon the recipe on the caloriecount.com website, and I was in love after first bite!

Enough of me rambling on.  Heres what you need to make them: 3 Ripe Bananas 2C. Rolled Oats 1C. Raisins 1/3C. Applesauce 1tsp. Vanilla Extract 70% Dark Chocolate chips to preference (I use about 1/2 cup) Preheat your oven to 350F and start mashing up those bananas in a bowl.  Once they are good a gooey, add in the rest of the ingredients.  Stir well, and let rest for 15 minutes.  Spoon onto foil covered AND GREASED cookie sheet (these little buggers stick to everything!).  Bake for 18-20 minutes.  They will not expand in the oven like a conventional cookie, so feel free to put them closer together on the sheet.  Let cool on wire rack and ENJOY. Nutrition Info per 1 cookie: Calories: 40/Calories from Fat: 3 Total Fat: 0.3g Cholesterol: 0mg Carbs: 8.7g

Compare that to my usual temptation, Chips Ahoy.. Nutirion Info per 1 cookie: Calories: 60/Calories from Fat: 45 (YIKES) Total Fat: 3 (OOF) Cholesterol: 0mg (Not shabby) Carbs 9g (Just about the same).

Try them!  They are a yummy and satisfying alternative to those sugary originals!  Have you tried the recipe?  Have another healthy cookie recipe to share?  Leave it below!

Photo from: http://grub.gunaxin.com/25-famous-animated-food-mascots/26374

Leave a Reply

