“My Stache” Storage Jar

Is it me or are candle jars some of the best made jars around? I hate throwing them away, so I found a way to clean and re-use them! Even better? Everybody seems to be hopping into the mustache bandwagon these days, so I decided to add this cute decoration to the outside.

First the hard part.. Cleaning the jar!

20121218-182142.jpg
If you still have some wax in it, throw your jar in the freezer for a few hours and then chip it out. I had already cleaned mine, so it was just getting the nasty glue off where they glued the wick

20121218-182259.jpg
I used an old cheese spreader to gently pull the wick off. It leaves a serious amount of glue behind, but I recommend cleaning it with simple green. A little simple green and a paper towel took it right off!

20121218-182423.jpg
I use vinegar and a paper towel to scrub off any stickers or labels. It takes them off with the glue! Finally, wash it out with some dish soap and let dry.

20121218-182548.jpg
Print out your design and cut it out. I like to stay close to the image when cutting.. Too big and the paper will crumple in all sorts of directions while trying to tape it!

20121218-182705.jpg
Tape in your design on the inside of the glass..

20121218-182737.jpg
Trace your design from the outside. I used puffy paint because I like that I can peel it off if I really mess up!

20121218-182846.jpg
Let dry, and fill up! Could make a cute gift for your guy during mustache march too!

20121218-182934.jpg

Leave a Reply

